Fed Camp FinderFederal Campgrounds Only

Home › Alaska › Sawmill Creek Picnic Shelter

Sawmill Creek Picnic Shelter

FSU.S. Forest Service — SITKA · Alaska · Tongass National Forest

AgencyFSU.S. Forest Service
AreaTongass National Forest
LocationSITKA · Alaska · Tongass National Forest
Sites1 public sites counted from the federal listing — 1 shelter nonelectric
Getting a siteFirst-come, first-served only — this campground takes no reservations.
HookupsElectric at 0 of 1 sites
Water hookups at 0 of 1 sites
Sewer hookups at 0 of 1 sites
Full hookups (all three at one site) at 0 of 1 sites
Counted site by site from affirmative reports in the federal record. A site with no report is not counted either way.
Max RV lengthNot reported in the federal data
Months openNot in federal data — the federal listing does not publish a season for this campground. Check the official description below or Recreation.gov.
FeesPayment only necessary for advance (future) reservations. Payments for advance reservations should be made through www.recreation.gov. The site is free to use on a first come, first served basis when it is not posted as reserved.
Check-in / outIn 12:00 PM · Out 10:00 PM (most common in the listing)
PetsAllowed at 1 sites, as reported
Accessible sites1 marked accessible in the listing
Phone907-747-6671

Check availability & book on Recreation.gov →

This site takes no reservations and shows no live availability. Source: Recreation.gov (RIDB export pulled November 5, 2026); this listing was last updated in the federal record on 2026-07-21.

From the official listing

Overview The USDA FS Sawmill Creek Campground is a recently renovated recreational facility with camping, picnicking, hiking, and bird and wildlife viewing opportunities nearby. It is 1.5 miles up Blue Lake Road, accessible by vehicles from May 15 to November 1 or accessible by foot, cross-country skis, or bikes year-round. The campground has 3 single tent sites and 1 group site with a 30-person capacity. There are also picnic tables, fire rings, garbage bins, and a vault toilet. Two sites can accommodate small RVs, but hookups are not available. For campsites, there is 14-day overnight stay limit per calendar year that is monitored and enforced year-round. It is also advised that visitors bring their own potable water or to treat water collected from Sawmill Creek. There is no campground host on site and firewood is not available for sale. Pallet burning is not allowed. Bear safety is crucial as brown bears can be present any time; please use the bear-proof lockers provided on site. The trailhead for Beaver Lake/Herring Cove Trail is accessible from the campground. 

This page is for advance (future) reservations for the Sawmill Creek Picnic Shelter only. Unless an advance reservation is made, this shelter is free and first come, first serve. If the shelter is already reserved, the reservation dates will be posted at the shelter. 

Recreation

Access to Beaver Lake Trail within campground: https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/tongass/recarea/?recid=79060 Fishing opportunities in Sawmill Creek 

Facilities Vault Toilet

Natural Features

Sawmill Creek  Temperate rainforest environment Views of surrounding mountains Access to Beaver Lake Trail 

Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (907) 747-4212. Nearby Attractions

Beaver Lake Trail (within campground): https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/tongass/recarea/?recid=79060 Access to the Thimbleberry/Heart Lake Trails (on Blue Lake Road): https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/tongass/recarea/?recid=79142 Blue Lake

Directions, from the listing

Located on Baranof Island 7 miles southeast of Sitka; from downtown Sitka follow Sawmill Creek Road 5.2 miles to Blue Lake Road; turn left on graveled Blue Lake Road 1.5 miles to Sawmill Creek Campground sign and turn right to enter the campground.

Trip Card — Sawmill Creek Picnic Shelter

SITKA · Alaska · Tongass National Forest

AgencyFS · U.S. Forest Service
LocationSITKA · Alaska · Tongass National Forest
FeesPayment only necessary for advance (future) reservations. Payments for advance reservations should be made through www.recreation.gov. The site is free to use on a first come, firs…
Getting a siteFirst-come only
HookupsNone reported
Max RVNot reported
Months openNot in federal data
Sites1 sites

Book: recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/10323785 · Source: Recreation.gov, pulled November 5, 2026. Facility details come from federal recreation data and may be out of date — this site takes no reservations and shows no live availability; confirm details and book through Recreation.gov or the managing agency.